NSU announces Homecoming schedule

Northwestern State University will celebrate Homecoming Festivities Thursday, Oct. 21-Saturday, Oct. 23. Events will include several induction programs, tailgating and a half-time presentation of the Homecoming Honor Court.

The celebration will begin at 6 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 21 with the Seven Oaks Stage Dedication at Iberville Green. The event will involve a land acknowledgement, a Centennial Showcase featuring the National Pan-Hellenic Council Fraternities and Sororities, remarks from a 1965 alumni representative and a stage dedication and plaque unveiling. The Seven Oaks Stage name honors of the first seven Black students to attend Northwestern State, Steve Jackson, June Cofield, Doris Ann Roque-Robinson, Hyams J. Baptiste, James Johnson, Johnnye Britton-Paige and Pearl Jones-Burton.

The Long Purple Line induction program will begin with a reception starting at 11 a.m. Friday, Oct. 22 at the Natchitoches Events Center. The luncheon and induction program will begin at noon. Inductees are state official Sujuan Boutte of Prairieville, businessman Harvey F. Marcus Sr. of Monroe, Louisiana State University Head Football Coach Ed Orgeron of Baton Rouge, NSU Vice President for External Affairs Jerry Pierce, Fed Ex executive John A. Smith of Memphis, Tennessee, and former NSU faculty member Thomas Whitehead of Natchitoches.

The inaugural recipients of the Distinguished Communications Professional Award, Ray Strother, the late Gen. Erbon Wise and the late Marie Wise, will be recognized during the luncheon, as well as inductees into the Hall of Distinguished Educators, the College of Business Hall of Distinction and N-Club.

Check-in for the lunch will begin at 11:30 a.m. Tickets are $25 and can be purchased at https://longpurpleline2021.eventbrite.com. For more information, contact Danielle Cobb at cobbd@nsula.edu or call (318) 357-5513.

Events Saturday, Oct. 23 will begin with the N-Club Hall of Fame induction program for the Class of 2020 in Magale Recital Hall. Admission is free. The honorees are Terrence McGee, Stephanie Sowell, Tony Taylor, Robert Daniel, La’Terrica “Cooda” Dobin, Jordan Robison, Regina Roe, Linette Stuart, Randy Moore and Bob Kairis. Terry Alario Sr., Terry Alario Jr. will receive the N-Club’s Distinguished Services Award. Coach Al Miller is the first recipient of the N-Club Pioneer Award.

The College of Business and Technology will host a reception for inductees into the College of Business Hall of Distinction beginning at 11 a.m. in the Natchitoches Room at Russell Hall. This year’s honorees are Nicholas Courville, CPA (Accounting), the late John G. Williams, JD (Business Administration) and Dr. Jack and Barbara Russell (Computer Information Systems).

The Northwestern Demon Regiment will hold an open house at Noe Armory from noon-2 p.m. Saturday. Friends are invited to stop by for food and visiting.

Tailgating at Collins Pavilion and around the tailgating field will also begin at noon.

The Gallaspy College of Education and Human Development will host a reception for Hall of Distinguished Educators inductees beginning at noon at the Teacher Education Center. The induction program will begin at 12:30 p.m. This year’s honorees are Dr. Toni Bennett, Dr. John Dollar, Dr. Chris Maggio and Dr. Elwanda Murphy. Christy Hornsby is this year’s Outstanding Young Professional.

The football game versus Southeastern Louisiana University will kick off at 3 p.m. The halftime presentation of the Honor Court will be at approximately 5 p.m.

Boogie on the Bricks will take place at the corner of Church and Front streets in downtown Natchitoches at 7 p.m. The concert event is free and open to the public.

The Greek Centennial that was scheduled to be held in conjunction with Homecoming has been postponed to April 2022.

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE