Committee chooses four semifinalists for NSU Presidency

Semifinalists Chosen

The Northwestern State University Presidential Search Committee selected four semifinalists to interview at the end of the month for the school’s top post.

The semifinalists are:

Neal Barlow

Neal Barlow

Neal Barlow, Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Arkansas Tech University





Chris Maggio

Chris Maggio, Acting President and Vice President for the Student Experience, Northwestern State University






Timothy Quinnan

Timothy Quinnan, Vice President for Student Affairs, University of Texas at Arlington






William Wainwright

William Wainwright, Chancellor, Northshore Technical Community College







“The NSU search is especially meaningful to me and I am pleased with the incredible talent found in the four semifinalists,” UL System President and CEO Jim Henderson said. “The university is on a positive trajectory and its next leader is poised to create an even better environment for students.”

Candidates will sit for public interviews on Northwestern’s campus April 26 and 27 to select finalists who will interview with the UL System Board at a special meeting May 4. UL System staff will release a detailed interview schedule when it is finalized. In addition to public interviews, candidates will meet with NSU faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members. Comments and questions can be submitted by emailing

Voting members of the search committee include UL System board members Edward Crawford, Lola Dunahoe, Pam Egan, Jimmie Martin, Shawn Murphy, Alejandro Perkins, Mark Romero, Winfred Sibille and Student Board Member Antonio Torres. Also serving as a voting member is NSU Faculty Senate President Marcia Hardy.

Serving as advisory, non-voting members are NSU Student Government Association President John Pearce, NSU Foundation President Scott Andrews, NSU Alumni Association President Monty Chicola and community member Gail Jones. UL System President and CEO Jim Henderson serves as the non-voting committee chair.

UL System President and CEO Jim Henderson led NSU prior to beginning his new role in January. Semifinalist candidate Chris Maggio is serving as the university’s acting president.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *