Louisiana 4-H announces state contest winners, new officers

campaign speechsjpg

BATON ROUGE— With a theme of “We’re all in this together,” nearly 1,500 4-H’ers from across the state won educational trips, participated in educational programs and selected new officers for the 2018-19 school year during 4-H University.

The 104th annual event was held on the LSU campus in Baton Rouge on June 19-22. 4-H University consists of 33 competitive contests, 11 Clover College tracks, electing new state officers and regional representatives for the state 4-H executive board, and selecting national conference delegates and members of six state leadership boards.

In the competitive contests, youth contended for educational trips to the Gulf Coast and San Antonio. They also vied for the right to represent Louisiana 4-H in several national competitions and cash prizes.

“For many 4-H members, 4-H University is the highlight of their year,” said Janet Fox, LSU AgCenter 4-H department head. “Some have been preparing for their contests all year, and others look forward to components like Clover College and other educational programs.”

4-H University also allows the participants to experience what life is like on a major college campus. They stay in dormitories during the event, and the contests and programs are held across the LSU campus, exposing 4-H members to a college-like experience.

“Some of our participants come from rural areas and attend small schools. 4-H U gives them a taste of the college atmosphere, and hopefully, they will find it less intimidating if they go off to college someday,” Fox said.

Nearly 250 students attended Clover College, a selection of seven-hour programs that are non-competitive and focus on education and exposing young people to campus life. Sessions included forensics, graphic design, horsemanship, learning about opportunities in the LSU College of Agriculture and lessons regarding the basics of video production.

State 4-H president, vice president, secretary, historian/reporter and parliamentarian were elected during the week. Westin Cobb, of Livingston Parish, was elected president, and Tay Moore, of Bienville Parish, will serve as vice president.

Eugenia Williams, of St. Landry Parish, was elected secretary; Nydia Cooper, of St. James Parish, was elected historian/reporter; and Clay Leblanc, of Iberville Parish, was chosen parliamentarian.

Members were also designated to serve on the boards for citizenship, fashion, food and fitness, performing arts, shooting sports, and science, engineering and technology (SET).

Delegates to represent Louisiana 4-H at the National 4-H Conference in Washington, D.C., in spring 2019 were also selected during 4-H U.

Representatives were chosen from five geographical regions to serve as liaisons between the state executive board and their respective regions and help in the planning and staging of regional and state 4-H events.

Contest winners were:

Fashion Review-Ready-to-Wear: Bailey Wray, Sabine Parish.

4-H Has Talent: Cameron Richard, Lafourche Parish.

Agriculture Demo: Joseph Trahan and Austin Vincent, Cameron Parish.

ATV: Dustin Zaunbrecher, Acadia Parish.

Automotive: Ann Borel, Pointe Coupee Parish.

Automotive (Team): Ann Borel and Emily Major, Pointe Coupee Parish.

Career Preparation Interview: Emily Fontenot, Lafayette Parish.

Child Development: Maci Schexnayder, Ascension Parish.

Compact Tractor: Olivia Beauvais, Pointe Coupee Parish.

Computer Simulation: Camille Arceneaux and Leah Trahan, Acadia Parish.

Consumer Decision Making: Hollyn Guidroz, Carly Loupe and Caroline Savoie, Lafourche Parish.

Consumer Food Judging: Alyssa Guidry and Bailey Terrebonne, Lafourche Parish.

Dairy Judging: Tristan Foret, Lafourche Parish.

Dairy Judging (Team): Addison Duet, Tristan Foret and Kylee Triche, Lafourche Parish.

Diesel Operations: Christopher McLain, Vermilion Parish.

Dog Science: Aileecia Tipton, Bienville Parish.

Entomology Demonstration: Hannah LeBlanc and Kathryn LeBlanc, Acadia Parish.

Environmental Conservation Illustrated Talk: Jacob Martin, Lafayette Parish.

Fashion Review-Casual: Lillie Christaw, Caddo Parish.

Fashion Review-Creative Choice: Anna Little, Winn Parish.

Fashion Review-Designer’s Choice: Savannah Green, Winn Parish.

Family and Consumer Sciences Demonstration: Madelyn Campisi and Anna Esquivel, Vermilion Parish.

Fishing Sports: Jacob Harelson, Iberville Parish.

Fishing Sports (Team): James Daigle, Alex Milazzo and Noah Stafford, Ascension Parish.

Forestry: Wesley Goldstein, Catahoula Parish.

Horticulture Demonstration-General: Brittney Lea and Antavion Moore, Bienville Parish.

Horticulture Demonstration-Use: Christopher Broussard and Ty Hebert, Vermilion Parish.

Horticulture Judging: Cali Dauzat, Avoyelles Parish.

Horticulture Judging (Team): Lily Breaux, Cali Dauzat and Lauren Gauthier, Avoyelles Parish.

Insect Identification: Lindsey Duhon, Vermilion Parish.

Meat Identification: Atticus Guillory, Lafayette Parish.

Meat Identification (Team): Parker Abshire, Atticus Guillory and Andrew Thibodeaux, Lafayette Parish.

Outdoor Skills: William Powell, Lafourche Parish.

Outdoor Skills (Team): Chase Griffin Echols, Tucker Riser and Thomas Singleton, Lincoln Parish.

Photography: Emily Petry, Vermilion Parish.

Plant Science: Breann Keowen, West Baton Rouge Parish.

Plant Science (Team): Reece Hardee, Sarah Sherman and Madison Thibodeaux, Vermilion Parish.

Poultry Judging: Abigail Brinkman, Lafayette Parish.

Poultry Judging (Team): Abigail Brinkman, Miguel Cruz and Caroline Hernandez, Lafayette Parish.

Public Speaking (Any Subject): Emma Breaux, St. Martin Parish.

Public Speaking (Cooperative): Chloe Hebert, Iberville Parish.

Solutions Unlimited: Tatum Dugas and Lainey Goloforo, St. Charles Parish.

Soybean Illustrated Talk: Kallie Pitre, Allen Parish.

Sports Broadcasting: Alexia LaGrone and Broty Stelly, Lafayette Parish.

Teens Driving Teens to Safety: Gavyn Stevens and Kaylin Thibodeaux, Iberia Parish.

The Louisiana Chef: Jacob Rogers, St. Mary Parish.

The Next 4-H Food Star: Sidney Barbry, Coralie Deloach and Avia Laborde, Avoyelles Parish.

Wildlife Habitat Judging: Austin Goldstein, Catahoula Parish.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *