ET professor recognized as lifetime member of IEEE

Dr. Rafiqul Islam, a professor in Northwestern State University’s Department of Engineering Technology, has been recognized as a life member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization for the advancement of technology to benefit humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community to innovate for a better tomorrow through many different activities nationally and internationally. IEEE has over 400,000 members in over 160 countries.

“It is an honor to have Dr. Islam as a member of our ET Department and NSU family,” said Dr. Jafar Al-Sharab, head of NSU’s Engineering Technology Department.

Islam has been with IEEE for 35 years with different levels of membership.

“I became the Student Member of IEEE when I was pursuing my Master of Science in Electrical Engineering at Manhattan College in New York City,” he said. “I continued it during my Ph.D. study in the University of Wyoming in Laramie and took part in various activities of the IEEE student chapter there. After starting my professional life, I become a Member of IEEE. In 2003 the Board of Directors of the IEEE elected me to the grade of Senior Member. At that time there were very limited numbers of senior members. I have been the faculty representative of the Student Chapters in different universities including NSU since 1990.”

After joining the faculty at NSU, Islam became more involved with IEEE activities. Recognition as a life member acknowledges his engagement in the organization and service to the industry.

“I started publishing more papers in the peer review journals,” he said. “I served in IEEE/ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology)/ Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission for five years with upper grade rating. I made tutorial presentation in WCNC 99 conference in New Orleans on ‘Satellite Based Personal Communication Services. I also served as a panel member for National Science Foundation grant selection committee for five years.”

To report an issue or typo with this article – CLICK HERE